My room’s too small for parties

The arrival of a restless wind has made it impossible to sleep tonight. It slaps heavy against the window awnings of the adjacent apartment complex. The buzz across the wires echoes some message lost in a cityscape. I pray for long legs that will brave a climb off the balcony and leap across rooftops. I fall short and miss the mountain air. Everything seems foreign all of a sudden and Fall reeks of death. The shedding of old skin. I’m on my back studying the patterns formed on the ceiling by the light coming through the blinds. I get lost in those lines. Infinite calculations run through my mind. They tire me. You make my thoughts stop. I want to paint you in my dreams, even if it means, in the morning I tear at the seams. Some things just can’t be. Hello, Autumn wind. I’m standing still.

